University of Pretoria Scholarships for Commonwealth Countries’ Students in South Africa, 2014

University of Pretoria is offering two Commonwealth PhD scholarship in South Africa. Commonwealth applicants (excluding South African students) are eligible for this scholarship. Applicants must have enrolled at University of Pretoria. The duration of scholarship is three years which covers accommodation and living costs, medical aid, books/stationery, research costs, application fee and Visa costs, airfare. Masters students currently registered at the University of Pretoria are not eligible for the Doctoral Scholarship. Application must be submitted by 30 August 2013.. The University of Pretoria is a research intensive university. Hence, it is seeking candidates for doctoral studies who will make significant contributions to its research endeavor. As part of South Africa’s contribution to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, the University of Pretoria has made funds available for two doctoral scholarships for students coming from Commonwealth Countries (excluding South African students). This scholarship will be known as the University of Pretoria Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship and will be awarded on a competitive basis. The University of Pretoria has established a reputation for academic excellence, particularly in relation to some of its major research activities. Information about these research activities can be obtained from the website of the University.. This scholarship is for pursuing PhD degree level at University of Pretoria in South Africa.
The research areas of this scholarship are: The scholarship is provided to learn any of the courses offered by the University of Pretoria in South Africa.
Who can apply to this scholarship?
· The UP Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship will be awarded to applicants who are citizens of Commonwealth countries.
· Applicants must conduct their studies at the University of Pretoria.
· Applicants must have completed the degree that will give them admission to a doctoral programme a maximum of three years prior to their application for the University of Pretoria Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship.
· Applicants must not be older than 35 years of age at time of application.
· Masters students currently registered at the University of Pretoria are not eligible for the Doctoral Scholarship.
Benefits of the scholarship: The value of this Doctoral Scholarship will be R120 000 in 2014. This amount must be used to cover the following student costs: -Accommodation and living costs -Medical Aid – Books/StationeryNote: Fees will be covered by the award of a UP Postgraduate Scholarship Research costs will be covered by the Supervisor Additional costs covered by the University: Return flight ticket from home country Shuttle service on arrival in South Africa from OR Tambo International Airport to Pretoria and return from Pretoria to OR Tambo on completion. Application fee and Visa costs which will be refunded on proof of receipts on arrival.
More information about the fellowship:
Duration: The scholarship will be for a maximum period of support of three academic years. Doctoral students who are not able to complete within the maximum three academic year period due to unforeseeable reasons must provide a written motivation supported by their supervisor as to why an extension is necessary. The extension request will be considered by the University’s Institutional Selection Committee. The motivation must also indicate the following: -The number of additional months that will be required (may not exceed 12 months) -The research costs required for the extension period. -The amount of financial support the Supervisor can provide towards the extension period.
Number of scholarships: Not provided

Writte a comment