Ohio Soybean Council Foundation Scholarship for Undergraduate Students 2012-2013

In order to ensure the future prosperity of the Ohio and U.S. soybean industry, it is important that students understand the wide variety of opportunities available in agricultural careers. This scholarship program encourages undergraduate students at Ohio colleges and universities to pursue degrees in one of the many academic fields that support the future of the soybean industry including, science and technology, economics, communications, education, business and leadership. Five scholarships are available for undergraduate students who are current Ohio residents. Three scholarship winners will receive up to $3,000 each, and one winner who is an agriculture business or communications major, will be awarded the $3,000 Farmer Lumpe+McClelland Scholarship. One winner will also be awarded the Bhima Vijayendran Scholarship, and will receive $5,000. The Bhima Vijayendran Scholarship was named to honor Dr. Vijayendran’s significant contributions to the soybean industry through his scientific research and commercialization activities at Battelle Memorial Institute.

Applicants must be enrolled as a full-time student at an Ohio college or university, and attained at least sophomore status by the fall of 2012, with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher in their major field. Eligible majors include biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, bioengineering, biotechnology, bioenergy, biofuels, crop science, food science, agricultural communications, agricultural business,agricultural education or any of the agricultural disciplines or related fields. Applicants must also demonstrate the desire to pursue a career related to the soybean industry and/or agriculture.

Scholarship Deadline: January 17, 2012

More info: View info

Writte a comment